Register Login

Russia Vetoes UN Resolution Condemning 'Aggression' In Ukraine

Russia Vetoes UN Resolution Condemning 'Aggression' In Ukraine

Russia on Friday vetoed a UN Security Council resolution condemning its invasion of Ukraine and demanding the immediate withdrawal of its troops from its neighbour.

The UN Security Council has 15 members, 5 are permanent members namely China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, United States, ‍and 10 are non-permanent members which are Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway, and United Arab Emirates.

Eleven of the council’s 15 members voted for the motion, which was co-written by the United States and Albania. China, India and the United Arab Emirates abstained.

The resolution was doomed from the start because Russia has veto power as a permanent member of the council.

The wording of the draft text put before the Security Council was softened in the hours before the vote to gain more support.

The word “condemns” was replaced by “deplores” and a reference to Chapter 7 of the UN Charter, which allows members to take military action to restore peace, was deleted.

The resolution reaffirmed the sovereignty of Ukraine and called for Russia to “immediately cease its use of force against Ukraine.”

Russia’s UN envoy, Vassily Nebenzia, condemned the resolution as “anti-Russian and anti-Ukrainian.” Said Nebenzia:

It is difficult for us to compete with the US in terms of the number of invasions carried out. You are in no position to moralize.

Meanwhile, the Ukrainian Ambassador to the UN Sergiy Kyslytsya led the council chamber in a moment of silence, asking members to “pray for peace.”

More: eNCA

Share Article


[[]] · [[post.created_on]]

Recent News

News Categories