Register Login

New Members Of Parliament Sworn In

New Members Of Parliament Sworn In

The twenty-eight (28) National Assembly parliamentarians that won in the 26 by-elections were sworn in on Tuesday when Parliament resumed sitting after a two-week break.

The MPs-elect took their oaths of affirmation to the Constitution and laws of the country before Clerk of Parliament Kennedy Chokuda.

The ruling ZANU PF party extended its two-thirds majority in the National Assembly after it won two seats that had been won by MDC Alliance in the 2018 general elections.

The seats are Epworth, which was one by Zalerah Makari and Mutasa South won by Misheck Mugadza.

The newly-formed Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC)’s Judith Tobaiwa won Kwekwe Central which was previously held by the National Patriotic Front.

The CCC MPs who were sworn in included Tendai Biti (Harare East), Settlement Chikwinya (Mbizo), Prince Dubeko Sibanda (Binga North), Amos Chibaya (Mkoba), Willias Madzimure (Kambuzuma), Chalton Hwende (Kuwadzana East), among others. Overall, there were 19 CCC MPs that were sworn in.

The 9 ZANU PF MPs that were sworn in are Zalerah Makari (Epworth), Misheck Mugadza (Mutasa South), Jeremiah Chiwetu (Marondera East), Nyasha Masoka (Murewa South), Munyaradzi Zizhou (Chivi South), Master Makope (Mwenezi East), Ncube Musa (Tsholotsho South), Davison Masvisvi (Gokwe Central) and Tasara Hungwe (Mberengwa South).

CCC won 19 National Assembly seats while ZANU PF won 9 seats in the 26 March by-elections.

The judicially constructed MDC-T, which contested the by-elections as MDC Alliance, failed to win a single seat.

More: NewsDay

Share Article


[[]] · [[post.created_on]]

Recent News

News Categories