Register Login

Liverpool's Salah Beat Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne To The PFA's Player Of The Year

Liverpool's Salah Beat Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne To The PFA's Player Of The Year

Liverpool forward, Mohamed Salah has been voted the Professional Footballers’ Association’s men’s player of the year, with Chelsea’s Sam Kerr collecting the women’s award.

Manchester City midfielder Phil Foden retained the PFA young player of the year award, with the club’s forward Lauren Hemp named the women’s best young player for the third consecutive season.

Salah topped the poll, which was voted for by PFA members, ahead of Kevin De Bruyne, who had won for the previous two years and was an integral part of the City team that beat Liverpool to the Premier League title by one point.

Manchester United forward Cristiano Ronaldo and the Tottenham striker Harry Kane had also made the shortlist, along with Salah’s Liverpool teammates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mané.

This is Salah’s second PFA player of the year trophy after he previously won it in 2018. This season he helped Jürgen Klopp’s side to win the Carabao and FA Cups and to reach the Champions League final, where they lost to Real Madrid.

The Egypt international Salah, who finished as the Premier League’s joint top-scorer alongside Tottenham’s Son Heung-min with 23 goals, was announced as the PFA men’s player of the year at a virtual ceremony on Thursday.

Foden, 22, topped an all-England shortlist on the men’s young player award. The Arsenal midfield duo Bukayo Saka and Emile Smith Rowe, Conor Gallagher, who spent the season on loan at Crystal Palace from Chelsea, the Aston Villa midfielder Jacob Ramsey and the Chelsea full-back Reece James were also nominated.

More: Pindula News is best enjoyed via the App. Download it here

Share Article


[[]] · [[post.created_on]]

Recent News

News Categories